SAVE THE DATES!


The full programme of the 21st edition of the FIFDH will be revealed on Tuesday 14 February 2023 & the ticket office will open on the same day!

The Festival will take place from 10 to 19 March 2023.

 


First glimpses of the 2023 programme


From Ukraine to Iran passing by Somalia, the social, political and military conflicts that are shaking the world will be discussed.

The urgency of global warming will be discussed with the director and environmental activist Cyril Dion and the scientist Julia Steinberger, as well as during a meeting with the Indian ecofeminist Vandana Shiva.

The presence of the Franco-Iranian actress and director Mina Kavani will allow us to shed light on the situation in Iran. The Kurdish singer and activist Mutlu Kaya and the journalist Victoire Tuaillon will honor us with their presence to testify and discuss feminicide and violence against women.

We will address the issue of information processing with the writer Giuliano Da Empoli (Le mage du Kremlin). Finally, we will receive the author Bertrand Badie (Le temps des humiliés. Pathologie des relations internationales) who will enlighten us on the place of humiliation in international relations.


This year, we are joining forces with the MAMCO for an exceptional meeting around the work of Ali Cherri, Lebanese artist and filmmaker, who will also present his latest film, Le Barrage, in its Swiss premiere at the Festival.

The FIFDH is opening up the borders of artistic practices and generations by inviting the artist François Burland as part of the Kids Guernica art project, initiated in Japan in 1995 and developed in over 40 countries. Inspired by Pablo Picasso's Guernica, these monumental works are created by children. The FIFDH opens the Swiss part of the project which will be realized by young migrants welcomed by the association AMIC who will represent their ideas of peace. Come and discover the realization of the work in real time at the heart of the Festival (Maison Communale de Plainpalais), from March 10 to 19. Opening: Thursday March 16 at 7:30 pm.


Decolonize the narrative - Impact Days 5th edition
Our international Industry programme brings together filmmakers, impact producers, NGOs and foundations to find alliances and joint strategies around common human rights themes. In addition to keynotes and panels, pitching and curated matchmaking sessions, this year’s Impact Days will initiate a reflection on the decolonization of the narrative, and will aim to give a voice to the people who know and embody the issues best. With international experts and stakeholders we will be asking: how can we promote impact cinema carried by the protagonists themselves and/or by involving them fully in the creative process? Full Impact Days programme coming soon! Stay tuned!

SAVE THE DATES!


Le programme complet de la 21e édition du FIFDH sera révélé le mardi 14 février 2023 & la billetterie ouvrira le même jour !

Le Festival se déroulera du 10 au 19 mars 2023.
 


Premiers aperçus du programme 2023


De l’Ukraine à l’Iran en passant par la Somalie, les conflits sociaux, politiques et militaires qui bouleversent le monde seront abordés.

L’urgence du réchauffement climatique sera discutée avec le réalisateur et militant écologiste Cyril Dion et la scientifique Julia Steinberger ainsi que lors d’une rencontre avec l’écoféministe indienne Vandana Shiva.

La présence de l’actrice et metteuse en scène franco-iranienne Mina Kavani permettra de mettre en lumière la situation propre à l’Iran. La chanteuse et activiste kurde Mutlu Kaya ainsi que la journaliste Victoire Tuaillon nous feront l’honneur de leur présence pour témoigner et discuter des féminicides et des violences faites aux femmes.

Nous aborderons la question du traitement de l’information avec l’écrivain Giuliano Da Empoli (Le mage du Kremlin). Enfin, nous recevrons l'auteur Bertrand Badie (Le temps des humiliés. Pathologie des relations internationales) qui nous éclairera sur la place de l’humiliation dans les relations internationales.


Nous nous associons cette année au MAMCO pour une rencontre exceptionnelle autour de l’oeuvre d’Ali Cherri, plasticien et cinéaste libanais, qui présentera également son dernier film Le Barrage, en première suisse au Festival.

Le FIFDH ouvre les frontières des pratiques artistiques et des générations en invitant l’artiste François Burland dans le cadre du projet artistique Kids Guernica, initié au Japon en 1995 et développé dans plus de 40 pays. Inspirées par Guernica du peintre Pablo Picasso, ces œuvres monumentales sont réalisées par des enfants. Le FIFDH ouvre le volet suisse du projet qui sera réalisé par des jeunes personnes migrantes accueillies par l’association AMIC qui représenteront leurs idées de la paix. Venez découvrir la réalisation de l’oeuvre en temps réel au coeur du Festival (Maison Communale de Plainpalais), du 10 au 19 mars. Vernissage : jeudi 16 mars à 19h30.


« Décoloniser le récit » -  Impact Days 5e édition
Notre programme professionnel Impact Days réunit des cinéastes, des producteur·trices d'impact, des ONG et des fondations pour trouver des alliances et des stratégies autour de thèmes communs liés aux droits humains. En plus des keynotes et panels de discussion, des pitchs et des sessions de matchmaking, les Impact Days de cette année initieront une réflexion sur la décolonisation du récit, et viseront à donner la parole aux personnes qui connaissent et incarnent le mieux ces enjeux. Avec des expert·es internationaux·ales, nous nous questionnerons sur comment promouvoir un cinéma d'impact porté par les protagonistes eux·elles-mêmes et/ou en les impliquant pleinement dans le processus de création ? Le programme complet des Impact Days sera bientôt disponible ! Stay tuned!