Editorial

Isabelle Gattiker
General and Artistic Director

A world in upheaval

Many of us can quote the beginning of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights: "All human beings are born Free and equal in dig­nity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience." What comes next is much less known, "and they should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood''.

Who are these human beings? We are... but which "we" do we speak of? A smooth "we", in which we are all interchangeable? By "free", must we understand the freedom of the alpha Male, built on ignorance, the freedom to insult, threaten and destroy whatever stands in our way?

We are living through an unprecedented assault on everything we believed we had won: our fundamental freedoms, freedom of expres­sion, the protection of artists and journalists, solidarity, labour lows... Everything is being called into question. For the first time since the end of the Second World War, Western Europe is entering an era of unrest.

Of this unrest we choose to make our strength. There is beauty in accepting the uncertainty and fragility of the world. The "we" we choose to defend is that of a society full of life, made up of unique personalities who don't necessarily agree with each other, but who are willing to live together and help one another. We present films that celebrate commitment, courage, creativity, joy, sensitivity and intelligence with panache. To being right, we prefer thaughtfulness, understood as an open debate in which we carefully chisel out our arguments, listen to those of others and open ourselves to the possibility of changing our mind.

To a world that appears ever more frozen, this 17th edition of the FIFDH brings a flame. lt burns with its openness, its constant questioning, its reaffirmation of fundamental values and its freedom of tone. lt burns with the filmmaker's desire, it burns with the passion of activists who make their voices heard to express, loud and clear, their refusal of an unacceptable situation. These artists and activists stand up and resist, suggest, listen, encourage and research every day so the light can pierce through. These 10 days are here so these voices may be heard and to vigorously interrogate the artistic, cultural and political resistance.

We wish you a wonderful edition of the Festival!

Further reading

Programme and tickets

Edito 2019

Isabelle Gattiker
Directrice générale et des programmes

Un monde à la renverse

Nous pouvons facilement citer le début de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'Homme : « Tous les êtres humains naissent libres et égaux en dignité et en droits. Ils sont doués de raison et de conscience»... Et la suite ? Elle est étran­gement moins connue : « ils doivent agir les uns envers les autres dans un esprit de fraternité.».

Qui sont ces êtres humains ? C'est nous... mais de quel « nous » s'agit-il ? Un nous lisse, où nous sommes interchangeables ? Par « liberté », faut-il comprendre la liberté du Mâle dominant, bâtie sur l'ignorance, la liberté d'insulter, de menacer, d'arrêter tout ce qui barre mon passage ?

Nous vivons un assaut sans précédent contre tout ce qui nous semblait acquis : nos libertés fondamentales, la liberté d'expression, la protection des artistes et des journalistes, la solidarité, le droit du travail, tout est remis en question. Pour la première fois depuis la fin de la Seconde guerre mondiale, l'Europe occidentale entre dans l'ère de l'intranquillité.

De cette intranquillité, nous faisons notre force. Il y a une beauté du geste dans le fait d'accep­ter l'incertitude et la fragilité du monde. Le « nous » que nous défendons est celui d'une société vivante, faite de personnalités uniques, pas forcément d'accord sur tout mais d'accord de vivre ensemble et de s'entraider. Nous présentons des films qui célèbrent l'enga­gement, le courage, la créativité, la joie, qui défendent la sensibilité et l'intelligence avec panache. À la certitude d'avoir raison, nous préférons le raisonnement, entendu comme un débat ouvert, où l'on cisèle soigneusement ses arguments, où l'on écoute ceux des autres, où l'on accepte aussi de changer d'avis.

Dons un monde qui semble de plus en plus gelé, cette 17ème édition du FIFDH brûle. Elle brûle par son immense ouverture, son questionne­ment constant, sa réaffirmation des valeurs fondamentales, son sens de l'urgence et sa liberté de ton. Elle brûle du désir des cinéastes, elle brûle de la passion de ces activistes qui partout, font entendre leur voix pour dire haut et fort leur refus d'une situation inacceptable. Elles et ils se lèvent et résistent, proposent, écoutent, encouragent, et recherchent chaque jour à faire percer la lumière. Ces 10 jours sont là pour les faire entendre, les rendre vivant·es. et interroger avec force les résistances artistiques, culturelles et politiques.

Avec dignité, avec fraternité, et pourquoi pas, avec poésie.

Nous vous souhaitons une magnifique édition du Festival !

À lire aussi