ForumLivestream

Why is it so hard for human beings to respect human rights?

Is our brain naturally geared to do good to our fellow human beings? How can we encourage human beings to better respect this common framework? For many, human rights are the right tool to enable us to live in harmony, but for others, it is a narrative to ease our conscience. How can we manage this ambivalence, the dark side in every individual? Are we increasingly respectful of human rights, or is it the other way around? Are human rights simply a lost cause?

For the 20th edition of the Festival, a psychoanalyst, a human rights activist, a neuroscientist, and a primatologist examine this daunting question. Alternating between love and violence, hope and disappointment, the documentary film A Night of Knowing Nothing, rooted in the social reality of India, raises the question of the human being's ability to engage and live in harmony with others.

JusticeLiberties & Democracy


Sunday 13 March

18:00

Espace Pitoëff - Grande salle

sold out - in case of cancellation, tickets will be put back on sale before the screening

Followed by the debate Why is it so hard for human beings to respect human rights?

French - English

Speakers

Nayef Al-Rodhan Neuroscientist, philosopher and geostrategist

Irene Bruna Seu Professor of Critical Psychology, University of London

Kate Gilmore Former Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights at the United Nations, Vice-President of Interpeace and Professor at the London School of Economics and the Faculty of Law, University of Essex

Richard Wrangham Anthropologist and Primatologist

Moderated by

Davide Rodogno Professor of International History and Politics and Head of Interdisciplinary Programmes at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies

This debat is preceded by the movie:

Compétition - Documentaire de création

A Night of Knowing Nothing

By Payal Kapadia

An award-winner in Cannes and Toronto, this debut film is a revelation and a cinematic gem. From her revolt in the face of rising extremism in India, young filmmaker Payal Kapadia weaves her web, a diary of poems, testimonies and stories against a backdrop of love letters. Edited on black and white images, this virtuosic collage, a tribute to the new wave and to justice, will undoubtedly prove a landmark ode to Indian youth and its freedom.

  • Section Compétition - Documentaire de création
  • Original language(s) Bengali & Hindi
  • Subtitle(s) English & French

Art & EngagementYouthLiberties & Democracy


Director(s)
Payal Kapadia

Producers

  • Thomas Hakim
  • Julien Graff
  • Ranabir Das

World sales

  • Wouter Jansen

Distributor

  • Wouter Jansen

Production

  • Petit Chaos

Cinematographer

  • Ranabir Das

Sound

  • Moinak Bose, Romain Ozanne

Editor

  • Ranabir Das
Duration
96'
Year
2021
Production country
France & India
Status
Swiss Premiere

ForumLivestream

Pourquoi l’être humain a-t-il tant de mal à respecter les droits humains ?

Notre cerveau est-il naturellement conçu pour faire le bien de nos semblables ? Comment inciter les êtres humains à mieux respecter ce cadre commun ? Pour bon nombre, les droits humains sont le bon outil pour nous permettre de vivre en harmonie, mais pour d’autres, il s’agit d’un récit destiné à nous donner bonne conscience. Comment canaliser cette ambivalence, la part sombre qui est en chaque individu ? Respectons-nous de mieux en mieux les droits humains ou est-ce tout le contraire ? Les droits humains sont-ils tout simplement une cause perdue ?

À l'occasion de la 20ème édition du Festival, une psychoanalyste, une militante des droits humains, un neuroscientifique et un primatologue se penchent sur cette question vertigineuse. En oscillant entre amour et violence, espoir et déception, le film documentaire A Night of Knowing Nothing, ancré dans la réalité sociale indienne, soulève la question de la capacité de l’être humain à s’engager et vivre en harmonie avec autrui.

JusticeLibertés & Démocratie


dimanche 13 mars

18h00

Espace Pitoëff - Grande salle

complet - en cas de désistement des places seront remises en vente avant la projection

Suivi du débat Pourquoi l’être humain a-t-il tant de mal à respecter les droits humains ?

Français - Anglais

Intervenant·es

Nayef Al-Rodhan Neuroscientifique, philosophe et géostratège

Irene Bruna Seu Professeure de psychologie critique, Université de Londres

Kate Gilmore Ancienne Haut-Commissaire adjointe aux droits de l’homme de l’ONU, vice-présidente d’Interpeace et professeure à la London School of Economics et à la faculté de droit, Université d’Essex

Richard Wrangham Anthropologue et primatologue

Modération par

Davide Rodogno Professeur d'histoire et de politique internationales et responsable des programmes interdisciplinaires à l'Institut de hautes études internationales et du développement (IHEID); Professeur d'histoire et de politique internationales et responsable des programmes interdisciplinaires à l'Institut de hautes études internationales et du développement (IHEID)

Ce débat est précédé par le film :

Compétition - Documentaire de création

A Night of Knowing Nothing

De Payal Kapadia

Primé à Cannes et Toronto, ce premier film est une révélation et un bijou de cinéma. De sa révolte face à la montée des extrémismes en Inde, la jeune cinéaste Payal Kapadia tisse sa toile, un journal intime de poèmes, témoignages et récits sur fond de correspondance amoureuse. Monté sur des images en noir et blanc, ce coupé-collé virtuose, hommage à la nouvelle vague et à la justice, fera date comme une ode à la jeunesse indienne et à sa liberté.

  • Section Compétition - Documentaire de création
  • Langue(s) originale(s) Bengalî & Hindi
  • Sous-titrage(s) Anglais & Français

Art & EngagementJeunesseLibertés & Démocratie


Réalisation
Payal Kapadia

Producteurs

  • Thomas Hakim
  • Julien Graff
  • Ranabir Das

World sales

  • Wouter Jansen

Distributeur

  • Wouter Jansen

Production

  • Petit Chaos

Photographie

  • Ranabir Das

Son

  • Moinak Bose, Romain Ozanne

Montage

  • Ranabir Das
Durée
96'
Année
2021
Pays de production
France & Inde
Statut
Première suisse