Forum

The power of law to defend the Rhone

Initiatives advocating the recognition of the rights of nature are proliferating: the Whanganui River in New Zealand is now a "legal entity"; the Rhone could follow suit, but Europe is lagging in this area. The Call of the Rhone wants to amend this delay.

Current legislation has shortcomings and cannot stop climate change; it is based on the notion of repairing the damage done instead of pres- ervation or prevention. Whereas the new para- digm, which makes it possible to assign a legal personality to a natural entity, makes it possible "to prevent future damage in the face of the cli- mate crisis before it happens, rather than acting after the disasters" explains Valérie Cabanes, a specialist in international law. In New Zealand, as in Canada, two rivers have just been attrib- uted a "legal personality". And in Switzerland? A public campaign initiated by the association Id-eau was launched in September 2021 to give the Rhône the legal means to defend itself. For its director, Frédéric Pitaval, it is necessary to "shake up the dominant ideas" and have the law changed to respond to the climate emergency.

SwitzerlandEnvironmentJustice


Friday 11 March

20:45

Espace Pitoëff - Théâtre

sold out - in case of cancellation, tickets will be put back on sale before the screening

Followed by the debate The power of law to defend the Rhone.

French

Speakers

Frédéric Pitaval Director of the Association id-eau

Marie-Thérèse Sangra Secretary-General of WWF Valais

Gilles Mulhauser Director General of the Cantonal Office for Water (OCEau)

Moderated by

Julie Kummer Journalist for the news podcast Le Point J, RTS

This debat is preceded by the movie:

Compétition - Documentaire de créationFilms en VOD

Invisible Demons

By Rahul Jain

Dizzying, bewitching... Words fail to describe this new opus by Rahul Jain, co-written with Yaël Bitton and presented at Cannes. For the past 30 years, economic growth in India has been synonymous with ecological disaster. Gripped by the urgency of the situation, Jain tells us about his city, New Delhi and its demonic invisible invaders: the fine particles that are slowly killing people. Powerful and impassioned, his camera tries to breathe and work its way through, inspiring us to see, imagine and reflect.

  • Section Compétition - Documentaire de création & Films en VOD
  • Original language(s) Hindi & English
  • Subtitle(s) English & French

AsiaEnvironmentHealth


Director(s)
Rahul Jain

Producers

  • Iikka Vehkalahti
  • Participant Media
  • Heino Deckert

World sales

  • mk2 films

Distributor

  • 1 1

Rights holder

  • Fionnuala Jamison

Cinematographer

  • Saumyananda “Somo” Sahi
  • Tuomo Hutri

Music

  • Kimmo Pohjonen

Sound

  • Susmit “Bob” Nath

Editor

  • Yael Bitton
Duration
70'
Year
2021
Production country
Finland, India & Germany
Status
Regional Premiere

Forum

L’arme du droit pour défendre le Rhône

Les initiatives qui plaident pour une reconnaissance des droits de la nature se multiplient : le fleuve Whanganui en Nouvelle Zélande est désormais une "personne juridique" ; le Rhône pourrait suivre, mais en la matière l’Europe est à la traîne. L’Appel du Rhône veut combler ce retard.

Le droit actuel montre des lacunes et ne permet pas d'enrayer le changement climatique ; il est fondé sur la notion de réparation des dommages commis, mais pas sur la préservation ou la prévention. Alors que le nouveau paradigme qui permet d’attribuer une personnalité juridique à une entité naturelle permet « de prévenir les futurs dommages face à la crise climatique en amont, plutôt que d'agir après les catastrophes », explique Valérie Cabanes, juriste en droit international. En Nouvelle-Zélande comme en Inde, trois fleuves, dont le Gange, viennent d'être dotés d’une « personnalité juridique ». Et en Suisse ? Une mobilisation citoyenne, initiée par l'association Id-eau, a été lancée en septembre 2021 pour donner au Rhône les moyens légaux de se défendre. Pour son directeur, Frédéric Pitaval, il faut "bouleverser les idées dominantes" et faire évoluer le droit pour qu'il puisse répondre à l'urgence climatique.

SuisseEnvironnementJustice


vendredi 11 mars

20h45

Espace Pitoëff - Théâtre

complet - en cas de désistement des places seront remises en vente avant la projection

Suivi du débat L’arme du droit pour défendre le Rhône.

Français

Intervenant·es

Frédéric Pitaval Directeur de l’association id-eau

Marie-Thérèse Sangra Secrétaire générale du WWF Valais

Gilles Mulhauser Directeur général de l’Office cantonal de l’eau (OCEau)

Modération par

Julie Kummer Journaliste pour le podcast d’actualité Le Point J, RTS

Ce débat est précédé par le film :

Compétition - Documentaire de créationFilms en VOD

Invisible Demons

De Rahul Jain

Vertigineux, envoûtant… Les mots manquent pour qualifier ce nouvel opus de Rahul Jain, coécrit avec Yaël Bitton et présenté à Cannes. Depuis 30 ans, en Inde, croissance économique rime avec désastre écologique. Saisi par l’urgence, Jain nous raconte sa ville, New Delhi, envahie par des démons invisibles : les particules fines qui tuent à petit feu. Puissante et habitée, sa caméra tente de respirer et de se frayer un chemin, en donnant à voir, à imaginer, à réfléchir. 

  • Section Compétition - Documentaire de création & Films en VOD
  • Langue(s) originale(s) Hindi & Anglais
  • Sous-titrage(s) Anglais & Français

AsieEnvironnementSanté


Réalisation
Rahul Jain

Producteurs

  • Iikka Vehkalahti
  • Participant Media
  • Heino Deckert

World sales

  • mk2 films

Distributeur

  • 1 1

Ayant droit

  • Fionnuala Jamison

Photographie

  • Saumyananda “Somo” Sahi
  • Tuomo Hutri

Musique

  • Kimmo Pohjonen

Son

  • Susmit “Bob” Nath

Montage

  • Yael Bitton
Durée
70'
Année
2021
Pays de production
Finlande, Inde & Allemagne
Statut
Première romande