ForumLivestream

Algerian War : the necessary right to memory

March 18, 2022 will mark the 60th anniversary of the Evian agreements, which put an end to the terrible war between France and Algerian independence fighters. 60 years of peace agreements, and just as many of confiscated memories.

For decades, Algeria and France imposed an official amnesia. Paris refused to talk about the 'war', Algiers dismissed any account that did not fit in with the official line of the National Liberation Front (FLN), the sole party from 1962 to 1989 and back in power again in 1999. On both sides of the Mediterranean, the populations were compelled to bury their suffering, their memories of forced displacement and torture. This war, which lasted 7 years, is said to have caused 500,000 deaths, the vast majority of which were Algerian victims. Both Algeria and France's new generations seek to know and understand. The documentary "Ne nous racontez plus d'histoires" (Don't tell us any more stories) contributes to breaking this silence and gives the floor to witnesses, whose accounts depart from the official historiography.

AfricaHistoryRacisms


Saturday 5 March

14:00

Espace Pitoëff - Grande salle

sold out - in case of cancellation, tickets will be put back on sale before the screening

Followed by the debate Algerian War : the necessary right to memory. The debate will be followed by a signing session with the French stage director and novelist Alice Zeniter, author in particular of L’Art de perdre, Comme un empire dans un empire and Je suis une fille sans histoire.

French

Co-presented with France Culture

Speakers

Benjamin Stora French historian, expert on Algeria and author of the report requested by Emmanuel Macron concerning the issues of colonial memory and the Algerian War

Alice Zeniter French director and novelist, author of L'Art de perdre, Prix Goncourt des Lycéens, 2017

Ferhat Mouhali Co-director of the documentary Ne nous racontez plus d'histoires!

Moderated by

Tewfik Hakem Producer of Affinités culturelles and Esprit des lieux, France Culture

To go further

“Les mémoires vives de la guerre d'Algérie“ dans France Culture, 3 mai 2021.

STORA Benjamin, “ Les questions mémorielles portant sur la colonisation et la guerre d’Algérie“, 1 janvier 2021.

This debat is preceded by the movie:

Compétition - Grand ReportageFilms en VOD

Ne nous racontez plus d’histoires !

By Ferhat Mouhali & Carole Filiu-Mouhali

She is French; he is Algerian. The Algerian War rocked both their childhoods. Each had the right to a version of history: the traumatic memories of a forced exile for the journalist, whose father was a pied-noir; the mythical account of a glorious independence for the director, activist and rebel. This sensitive film gives voice to witnesses whose words have been deliberately forgotten and who fight so that a more peaceful truth may be heard.

  • Section Compétition - Grand Reportage & Films en VOD
  • Original language(s) French & Arabic
  • Subtitle(s) English & French

AfricaHistoryRacisms


Director(s)
Ferhat Mouhali & Carole Filiu-Mouhali

World sales

  • VraiVrai Films

Production

  • VraiVrai Films

Cinematographer

  • Ferhat Mouhali
  • Amine Aznay
  • Mélanie Favreau

Sound

  • Djamil Beloucif
  • Halim Chorfa
  • Salim Bakdi
  • Carole Filiu-Mouhali

Editor

  • Linda Attab
  • Ferhat Mouhali
Duration
88'
Year
2020
Production country
France & Algeria
Status
Swiss Premiere

ForumLivestream

Guerre d'Algérie : le nécessaire droit à la mémoire

Le 18 mars 2022 marquera les 60 ans des accords d’Évian, qui ont permis de mettre fin à la guerre effroyable entre la France et les indépendantistes algérien·nes. 60 ans d’accords de paix, autant d’années de mémoires confisquées.

Durant des décennies, l’Algérie et la France imposent une véritable amnésie officielle. Paris refuse de parler de « guerre », Alger écarte tout récit qui ne rentre pas dans la ligne du Front de Libération National (FLN), le parti unique de 1962 à 1989 et de retour au pouvoir en 1999. De part et d’autre de la Méditerranée, les populations ont l’obligation d’enfouir leurs souffrances, les déplacements forcés, la torture. Cette guerre, qui a duré 7 ans, aurait fait 500 000 morts, dont une immense majorité de victimes algériennes. Les nouvelles générations d’Algérien·nes et de Français·es veulent savoir, comprendre. Le documentaire « Ne nous racontez plus d'histoires ! » contribue à briser ce silence et donne la parole aux témoins, dont les récits sont loin de l’historiographie officielle.

AfriqueHistoireRacismes


samedi 5 mars

14h00

Espace Pitoëff - Grande salle

complet - en cas de désistement des places seront remises en vente avant la projection

Suivi par le débat Guerre d'Algérie : le nécessaire droit à la mémoire. Le débat sera suivi d’une séance de signature avec la metteuse en scène et romancière française, Alice Zeniter, autrice notamment de L’Art de perdre, Comme un empire dans un empire et Je suis une fille sans histoire.

Français

Co-présenté avec France Culture

Intervenant·es

Benjamin Stora Historien français, spécialiste de l’Algérie et auteur du rapport demandé par Emmanuel Macron concernant les questions mémorielles de la colonisation et de la guerre d’Algérie

Alice Zeniter Metteuse en scène et romancière française, autrice de L’Art de perdre, prix Goncourt des Lycéens, 2017

Ferhat Mouhali Co-réalisateur du documentaire Ne nous racontez plus d’histoires !

Modération par

Tewfik Hakem Producteur d'Affinités culturelles et d'Esprit des lieux, France Culture

Pour aller plus loin

“Les mémoires vives de la guerre d'Algérie“ dans France Culture, 3 mai 2021.

STORA Benjamin, “ Les questions mémorielles portant sur la colonisation et la guerre d’Algérie“, 1 janvier 2021.

Ce débat est précédé par le film :

Compétition - Grand ReportageFilms en VOD

Ne nous racontez plus d’histoires !

De Ferhat Mouhali & Carole Filiu-Mouhali

Elle est Française, il est Algérien. Leur enfance a été bercée par la guerre d’Algérie, et chacun·e a eu droit à une version de l’Histoire : souvenirs traumatisants du départ forcé pour la journaliste, fille de pied-noir ; récit mythifié d’une indépendance glorieuse pour le réalisateur, activiste et militant. Ce film sensible donne la parole à des témoins aux discours volontairement oubliés, qui se battent pour faire entendre une vérité plus apaisée.
 

  • Section Compétition - Grand Reportage & Films en VOD
  • Langue(s) originale(s) Français & Arabe
  • Sous-titrage(s) Anglais & Français

AfriqueHistoireRacismes


Réalisation
Ferhat Mouhali & Carole Filiu-Mouhali

World sales

  • VraiVrai Films

Production

  • VraiVrai Films

Photographie

  • Ferhat Mouhali
  • Amine Aznay
  • Mélanie Favreau

Son

  • Djamil Beloucif
  • Halim Chorfa
  • Salim Bakdi
  • Carole Filiu-Mouhali

Montage

  • Linda Attab
  • Ferhat Mouhali
Durée
88'
Année
2020
Pays de production
France & Algérie
Statut
Première suisse